Crockpot Chicken Vegetable Curry

Penzey's hot curry powder

delicious Penzey’s hot curry powder

Looking for a very, very simple weeknight meal? Chicken thighs, coconut milk, high-quality curry powder and an assortment of vegetables thrown into the crockpot equals a delicious curry that’s ready when you get home from work.

Ingredients

  • 2 lb chicken thighs
  • 1 sweet potato, cubed
  • 2 yellow squash, cubed
  • 1 eggplant, skinned and cubed
  • 1 yellow onion, cubed
  • 1 can full-fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 4 Tbsp curry powder (I love Penzey’s Hot Curry Powder – it’s not hot)
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp sea salt

Change it up! Don’t have the afore-mentioned veggies? You can also do cubed carrots, zucchini, whatever. Just keep in mind that less cruciferous veggies will get very soft and mushy. Because of this, I tend to choose the tougher veggies for my curries.

Directions

  1. Turn the crockpot on “Low” because it’s going to cook for the next 8 hours – or however long you are away from home.
  2. Throw all the ingredients into the crockpot. That’s it.
  3. Add salt and pepper to taste.

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Vegetable Curry

  1. I made this last month and was so excited to eat it when I got home. I must say the curry powder makes ALL the difference. I didn’t buy high quality and was so disappointed. Tasted fine…. but not delicious!

    • I agree! I used to buy the boring old curry powder off the supermarket shelf … but after trying Penzey’s, I’ll never go back (and they don’t pay me to say that, haha)

  2. Pingback: Paleo Meal Planning – A How To | Me Like Paleo

Leave a comment