Whole Foods Meatloaf Recipe – Paleo-fied

I was thinking about the dishes I don’t really eat much of anymore, and meatloaf was one of the first dishes that sprang to mind. I don’t have anything against meatloaf – I have fond memories of my Mom’s – but meatloaf has a bad rep. We can thank the 1950s for popularizing what is essentially a mound of beef slathered in ketchup gravy. It’s basically a loaf. Made of meat. Not that I see anything wrong with that, carnivore that I am …

Meatloaf Made with Paleo Love

seriously, it’s a loaf. made of meat.

I don’t think I consumed meatloaf once I had moved out of my parents’ home … until I stumbled across a delicious meatloaf recipe on the Whole Foods Web site. Whole Foods really has some amazing recipes that are built on the premise of real food. It’s a treasure trove of yum.

The best thing about this recipe is that it is insanely simple, yet full of flavor (in other words, you do not need to slather this meatloaf in ketchup gravy). It provides protein and veggies, so it’s kind of like two food groups in one. It’s definitely a step up on the meatloaf scale in terms of taste and nutrition. So give meatloaf another chance!

  • 2 lb. ground beef (preferably organic, grass-fed)
  • 1 cup, frozen chopped spinach
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup beef broth
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 3 slices of diced bacon

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well (use your hands!). Line a baking dish with foil. Mold the meatloaf mixture into a smooth, even loaf (12″ long) in the baking dish.
  2. NOTE: For faster cooking times, divide this sucker into two smaller loaves.
  3. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Bake meatloaf until browned and cooked through, about 1 hour.
Leave a Reply

