Insanely Lazy Quick Paleo Dinner

I am almost embarrassed to even post this. I also cannot spell the word, “embarrassed,” apparently. Anyway. Sometimes I don’t want to cook ahead of time. Sometimes I want to watch “How I Met Your Mother” for hours on end and not think about feeding myself (I know, I know, have some cheese with that whine …).

Insanely Lazy Quickie Dinner … commence.

Ingredients:

  • 3 strips bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 bag brussel sprouts, ends trimmed and halved
  • 4 sausages (Chicken/Sage or Chicken/Apple work well), sliced into rounds
  • 1 bag frozen broccoli and cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth

Directions:

  1. Heat up a skillet over medium-high heat and add bacon. When bacon is crispy, remove and place on a plate for later. Reserve bacon fat in pan. 
  2. Add onion and brussel sprouts to pan. Cook 10 minutes. 
  3. Add chicken broth and cover pan. Cook 10 minutes or until brussel sprouts are bright green and can be pierced with a fork. Trust me, you do NOT want mushy brussel sprouts. I actually like mine slightly charred. 
  4. Remove cover, add sausage to pan and continue cooking, uncovered, for 5 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, microwave frozen broccoli and cauliflower. When done, open bag carefully (steam!), and toss heated broccoli and cauliflower with the ingredients in the pan for about 5 minutes.
  6. Salt and pepper to taste. Voila.
One thought on “Insanely Lazy Quick Paleo Dinner

Leave a Reply

